Interval

May 14, 2017

19 Responses to “Interval”

  1. wyco said

    Awesome!

  2. Rebecca said

    I particularly like the portrait – it has a bit of a monoprint feel about it. In a very good way! πŸ™‚

    • That’s interesting point. I’ve been dabbling in some home printing. I’ve had lino waiting to be carved for some time, but I think I like a more immediate result. I do find though I’ve been regularly creating a printed ‘look’ with my painting, chalks and inking. I love drawing people in stripey tops – gives an immediate look in a few strokes and luckily, my daughter has lots of stripey tops!

      • Rebecca said

        Yes, I can definitely see that…Fascinating how the crossover seems to be occurring naturally as well. I have printing on my mind too, think I might be ramping (slowly) up to it, so I will watch your developments with even more interest than usual. πŸ™‚

        • What sort of printing are you planning to do? It’s the whole word ‘planning’ I think that puts me off!

          • Rebecca said

            I was thinking initially of some very, very simple printing using a couple of polystyrene pizza bases I’ve saved from the rare occasions I’ve bought them (and about the only thing they are good for), then maybe some monoprinting. Nothing very ambitious, anyway, at this stage. How about you? The planning is a bit daunting, as is the prospect of clearing up the sticky ink afterwards! πŸ™‚

            • I did the i splots by scratching into a shiny old calendar (it was a Lowry for inspiration!). It didn’t come out very distinct though. Also had a go at monoprinting but the paint kept drying too quickly – perhaps I should have put it on thicker. I look forward to your pizza-printing (it now has a name!) and mono prints to pick up tips and possibly steal the whole process! Half my problem is I’m not very exact when it comes to craft and tend not to plan or experiment much and then just bodge it. Strange as I’m a perfectionist in some many other things

              • Rebecca said

                Liking the Lowry idea, and also might have to trademark ‘pizza-printing’! I do recall that monoprinting seems to work nicely if you can use thick printer’s ink, and roll it out evenly onto a smooth glass sheet. I think maybe that kind of ink has a much longer drying time than paint, giving more (necessary) leeway for faffing about. I do love the smudgy effects of monoprinting, (as I’m also a bit of a bodger) and the fact that you can use a pencil, a finger, or anything else to make a mark. Spontaneous is fun! In related items, have you looked at Dave Whatt’s WordPress post on Decalcomania? https://davewhatt.wordpress.com/category/decalcomania/
                I think you might find that it appeals… certainly does to me. πŸ™‚

                • Yes, I have seen Dave’s, but a timely reminder for me to have a go – I’ve not done anything quite so spontaneous. I did a bit of monoprinting at college and we used oil paints I now remember. I used to have some really cheap horrible oil paints bought from the Sunday Market at Snetterton that would be perfect for this! We used metal plates, would a cheap mirror do the job? May also have to eat pizza this weekend! You are sparking so many ideas for me, thank you – Can I leave work immediately to get on with it??

                  • Rebecca said

                    YAY! Yes, down tools and off to create! (and you can tell them I said so, so there.) I reckon a mirror would be perfect – I intend to use the smooth reverse of a horrible textured glass chopping board we have. It’s useless for chopping as it blunts knives, but I think it would do perfectly for printing. I’ve never used oil paint at all (for anything), but if it’s good enough for art school printing, it sounds like it will be just the ticket. Necessity is the mother of invention… Can’t wait to see the fruits of your labours! πŸ™‚

  3. I really like this a lot!

  4. Reblogged this on sketchuniverse and commented:
    HI SISTERS, HERE’S THE SITE OF A GREAT ARTIST 🎨THANKS FOR YOUR
    VISITS 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Leave a Reply

Gareth Jones | Original Abstracts

Landscape Paintings ~ Tachisme ~ Mark Making

Kate Smith

Artist | Illustrator

Safira's Journey

Create Your Own Happiness

Caffeinated Karen

Cafe sketching around the world. Updated Tuesdays and Fridays.

PAPER TWISTS

Digital Collage and Design

Believe in Art

Bernard Mathysse's Artwork

NadiaDrawing

Nadia's Learning Log (Drawing Skills)

Josephinesun

sketches, pictures, character design

morenagade

everything is everything

DRIFTED.ART

All original art by Carey Bray

AH!

Musings in Art and things dear to my Heart

Maria McNurlen

The Art Gallery

Maeharlika

People, Places, Arts & Crap... mostly crap

Inversion Process

Another art blog

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

The United Arts Club

Fostering the Nine Arts in Ireland

BORGWORKS

PAINTINGS

Beth Oladipo

Textile Designer and Artist

last week

Corrine Hatt

KIRSTEINFINEART

Becoming Art Smart

Hilda Rogers ~ Artist

As long as you do your best, that's good enough.

On Art and Aesthetics

Exploring creativity and beauty across different media. Scholarly and journalistic. Lushly illustrated. Passionately global.

WILLHEED

Be savage as long as nobody is watching you or at least be wonderful while you doing it

RENDERED IMPRESSIONS / Original Oil Paintings by Catherine J. Martzloff

Fresh, vibrant and colorful landscape and still life oil paintings.

Dressy Games !

-from the heart to the hand...

Deliberate Sketching

using deliberate practice to improve my sketches

William Jefferies

arrivals departures

Tilly McDermott

Abstract artist, writer, thinker, daydreamer

creativesanjib

when creativity begins

illusion.is.mine

Pleased to meet you, visitor! I hope you'll have fun browsing through my latest artwork.

Practice makes perfect

Nobody's perfect.. but with practice, you can exceed expectations

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

