Rule of three

January 11, 2017

27 Responses to “Rule of three”

  1. memadtwo said

    And I like the bottom one best…(K)

  2. Love seeing the progression.
    Rule of Tree! 🙂

  3. kestrelart said

    This is a interesting set. The first two are very controlled.

    • I think the third one is too, but is pretending not to be. What were those green making watercolours you were talking about when we were at Cromford?

      • kestrelart said

        🙂
        You know I wasn’t neglecting the third one. It’s just the way the first two look.
        I think the tutor used cobalt blue and aurolean. It’s what I use. French ultramarine instead mutes the greens. Phthalocyanine blue makes electric greens which don’t look natural. Of course lemon yellow makes cooler cleaner greens. I bung various other colours in to muddy the green. Rose madder is a favourite.
        My outdoor palette, when I use watercolour remains
        French ultramarine plus burnt sienna in varying mixes for dark browns or greys.
        Aurolean and cobalt blue and rose madder for various greens and oranges and browner yellows. Sometimes lemon yellow.
        Payne’s grey well it’s obvious
        Neutral tint
        I think that’s it.
        I use tubes but usually let them dry in the palette and re use them.
        I’m often grubby and re use old dried up mixes.
        Sometimes I have other odd colours, variations on quinacridone – gold, rose etc are very rich and vibrant. Sometimes the standards – cadmium red and yellow but not often.
        But I don’t paint pure watercolours much now, and use white gouache and my conte crayons in combination with watercolour more often.

        • Thank you, i will remember the list is here and refer back. I was at an art shop yesterday and just stood staring at tubes and tubes of paint for ages and didn’t buy any in the end. I will replenish with some you’ve suggested. Have tried some drawing tonight but have been drawn into GCSE homework too.

  4. Three lovely pieces! Love the top sketch, the second has lovely perspective, especially by adding the trees to the back and side of the lane. The third, I feel that you should be able to walk around the trees, with what seems like the sunlight is shining through, to see a change of iridescence, a lovely loose watercolour giving great effect of the light of the day

    • Thank you for the comment. It’s good to hear what others think as I can get a bit fed up with the images by yhe time I’ve posted them! I think, looking back to the original scene, the top two reflect the day best. I was thinking of you this weekend as I attempted some sewing. I’ll pop over to your blog soon and leave a sewing question if that’s ok, once I figure out what I’m trying to do.

      • I know that feeling so well after working on a piece! I still think all three of your pictures carry great worth and accomplishment 🙂 As always, the eye of the beholder sees things sometimes differently than the artist!
        OMGoodness in the space of two days I have had a sewing query ….please note you are asking the ‘teacher’ of NOT being taught LOL…’by a wing and a prayer” is how I have been described as getting along by a great fellow follower, as she too creates randomly 😉 Though, if I can, I will definitely answer your question to the best of my ability, if I can’t…then I will throw it out to those who may know the answer (as more accomplished sewers )and get back to you:-)

  5. Marta said

    Very good studies! Keep going, It is so much fun! … And rewarding! I like the loose quality of the last study! It seems to fit well with the watercolor medium! Well done!!

  6. I also like something about each of them! (and I love the color discussion as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

Newcastle's Casual Reviewer of Art

An artist with a penchant for writing!

Implied Spaces

Between Realities

kelleysdiy

Where Creativity and Imagination Creates Wonderful Ideas for Your Home!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Almostfinnish's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

design and style report

love of design and style in all things

Fieldnotes

by Periwinkleblur

Her Diffident Way

The only way I know

The New Renaissance Mindset

Hope For the Infinitely Curious , the Jack of all Trades, & the Multipotentialite

White Outs

A sporadic cartoon from Paul White

Inchoate

A Journey Through Photography

Tonicheeks

tongue in both cheeks

hatsuyume

Words and pictures

Jillian K Mitchell

Making your world more beautiful

Funk's House of Geekery

Movies, Comics, Books, Games and Other Things Geeks Love

Linah A. Sofi

Personal Blogger

The Darkest Fairytale

I dreamed i could fall asleep.

Red Lips and Bibliomaniacs

Random Musings of a Book Aficionado

Alanemartinez's Blog

Just another day in the trenches...

Art Portfolio

Chun Wang

Palomar College

Student Art Showcase

Blanche Ellis

Artwork & Illustration

the Diligent Observer

the Generous Offerings of a Diligent Observer with a Vigorous Imagination

Gareth Jones | Original Abstracts

Landscape Paintings ~ Tachisme ~ Mark Making

Kate Smith

Artist | Illustrator

Caffeinated Karen

Cafe sketching around the world. Updated Tuesdays and Fridays.

PAPER TWISTS

Digital Collage and Design

Believe in Art

Bernard Mathysse's Artwork

NadiaDrawing

Nadia's Learning Log (Drawing Skills)

Josephinesun

sketches, pictures, character design

morenagade Art

art meets music

DRIFTED.ART

All original art by Carey Bray

AH!

Musings in Art and things dear to my Heart

Maria McNurlen

The Art Gallery

Maeharlika

People, Places, Arts & Crap... mostly crap

Inversion Process

Another art blog

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

