More or Less

May 11, 2016

image
image
image

26 Responses to “More or Less”

  1. I love linocuts – they get to the essence of a scene.

    • I’m rationing doing them as it’s too enjoyable (i like the initial destruction) and buying the lino may bankrupt me – i am a bit of a cheapskate and resent buying expensive materials!

      • Cheapskates R Us! How can we limit ourselves when such powerful images are there for the discovery. All three of these are beautiful (to me) Outside, but I wouldn’t like you to be: a) bankrupt, and b) enjoying yourself too much. That just wouldn’t do for an artist ;o)

  2. nexi said

    Love the smell of the lino but haven’t tried this for years. Ever tried wood carving??

    • No i haven’t, apart from the odd bit of whittling with a rusty pen knife. Would you recommend it? Cutting lino appeals to my industrious side, i feel like i’m doing a day’s proper work. Every now and then i need to do something like that or sewing or modeling or cutting down trees!

  3. These are wonderful!! You must have had a great time carving away. I’ve not done lino work since my Art O’level ~ now that’s a little while ago now 😉

  4. memadtwo said

    Wonderful…making my hands itch to try some too! (K)

    • Yes, it’s exactly that feeling! Me and my daughter use that phrase when going round arty crafty places, if we see something interesting, we just say – ‘itchy fingers’ and it means we want to go home and have a go! We are also particularly good at muttering ‘we could do that’, going home, having a go and finding that we can’t !

  5. I really like these – I’ve just started using lino cut, so different from what I’m used to. Your’s are great!

  6. Prints! Love yours, tried it a few times but I used too much ink and it was a disaster. I quit!

    • I can imagine lots of your trading card designs as prints, never thought of having another go? Cutting away at something is quite therapeutic and i only spent £20 on the starter kit

      • I would like to do a small zine of prints but I don’t have the patience for all the cutting or whatever it’s called. I don’t even know what to draw most of the time so I just start drawing and whatever weird thing happens, happens. To draw something and then cut it out on linoleum… I guess it would have to be something I really cared about. 5 years ago I was making a lot of big paintings but now I rarely paint and practically the only time I draw is the artist trading cards because they are small and I can finish them in 1-3 hours. I want to make some big paintings but then I think, more junk clogging up my small studio apartment. I was in an art show with a woman last year and had about 50 paintings hangings and I was asked to make a price list. I just put not for sale on everything on the list of paintings because I didn’t care about selling them and didn’t really want to sell them let alone put a price on things that I made without a single thought of money. I sold about 50 8 1/2 x 11 prints for $4 each and they only cost me $1 each to prints. They were good quality and could have charged $10 but it was more important to me to just make stuff affordable. There’s a guy that owns a new gallery that keeps asking me to be in shows but I don’t like art scenes anymore. All my best paintings were done years ago. Luckily, it’s all way back at http://www.chrisfrancz.com. Lately, i’ve been spending more time learning harmonica which is a lot of fun but like art, I just can’t follow the books that I have that teach traditional songs and how to play properly. I’ve been creating my own riffs that sound pretty original. I tried copying old blues harmonica players but that was frustrating because I can’t be someone else or copy someone else’s feeling so now I just fool around and stumble into my own sounds. The thought of playing someone else’s songs make as much sense to me as copying someone else’s paintings. Sorry, I guess I went off on a tangent!

        • I’ve been back and looked at your back catalogue. I think I first came across your blog when you were doing some street scenes – rooves and telegraph wires. You have lots of different subjects. Sounds like you’ve had a negative experience in the art scene. I’ve never been part of one so wouldn’t know, but can imagine some of the pretentiousness. It’s like what you said about ‘likes’ validating posts, do prices on pictures mean they must be good? What sort of feedback did you get from the exhibition?

  7. Beautiful! So cool!

Leave a Reply

Blanche Ellis

Artwork & Illustration

Tea Is Fun

An inspirational and emotional tea blog.

the Diligent Observer

the Generous Offerings of a Diligent Observer with a Vigorous Imagination

Gareth Jones | Original Abstracts

Landscape Paintings ~ Tachisme ~ Mark Making

Kate Smith

Artist | Illustrator

Safira's Journey

Create Your Own Happiness

Caffeinated Karen

Cafe sketching around the world. Updated Tuesdays and Fridays.

PAPER TWISTS

Digital Collage and Design

Believe in Art

Bernard Mathysse's Artwork

NadiaDrawing

Nadia's Learning Log (Drawing Skills)

Josephinesun

sketches, pictures, character design

morenagade

everything is everything

DRIFTED.ART

All original art by Carey Bray

AH!

Musings in Art and things dear to my Heart

Maria McNurlen

The Art Gallery

Maeharlika

People, Places, Arts & Crap... mostly crap

Inversion Process

Another art blog

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

The United Arts Club

Fostering the Nine Arts in Ireland

BORGWORKS

PAINTINGS

Beth Oladipo

Textile Designer and Artist

last week

Corrine Hatt

KIRSTEINFINEART

Becoming Art Smart

Hilda Rogers ~ Artist

As long as you do your best, that's good enough.

On Art and Aesthetics

Exploring creativity and beauty across different media. Scholarly and journalistic. Lushly illustrated. Passionately global.

WILLHEED

Be savage as long as nobody is watching you or at least be wonderful while you doing it

RENDERED IMPRESSIONS / Original Oil Paintings by Catherine J. Martzloff

Fresh, vibrant and colorful landscape and still life oil paintings.

Dressy Games !

-from the heart to the hand...

Deliberate Sketching

using deliberate practice to improve my sketches

William Jefferies

arrivals departures

Tilly McDermott

Abstract artist, writer, thinker, daydreamer

creativesanjib

when creativity begins

illusion.is.mine

Pleased to meet you, visitor! I hope you'll have fun browsing through my latest artwork.

